Mark Goodwin

Mark Goodwin is a poet-sound-artist who speaks and writes in various ways. He is also a balancer, walker, climber, and stroller. Mark has been making poetry for over three decades, and has published six full-length books and eight chapbooks with various poetry houses, including Longbarrow Press, Leafe Press & Shearsman Books.


Some of Mark Goodwin’s Awards:

East Midlands Arts Writers’ Bursary 1996.

Eric Gregory Award 1998.

Nottingham Trent University M.A. Bursary, 2000.

M.A. in Writing (poetry & fiction), Nottingham Trent University, 2002.

Winner of the inaugural East Midlands Book Award 2010.

Awarded substantial Arts Council England Grant for the arts, to develop ‘sound-enhanced poetry’, 2013.

Category finalist in the Banff Mountain Book Competition, 2015.

Category finalist in the Banff Mountain Book Competition, 2019.


Else (Shearsman Books, 2008) Link:

Distance a Sudden (Longbarrow Press 209) Link:

Back of A Vast (Shearsman Books, 2010) Link:

Shod, (Nine Arches Press, 2010) Link:

All Are Lots (Small Minded Books, 2012) Link: not available

Layers of Un (Shearsman Books, 2012) Link:

Clause in A Noise (Knives Forks and Spoons Press, 2013) Link:

Steps (Longbarrow Press, 2014) Link:

Tones Fled All, with Julia Thornley (Leafe Press’s Open House Editions, 2015) Link:

House At Out (Shearsman Books, 2015) Link:

All Space Away and In (Shearsman Books, 2017) Link:

Rock as Gloss (Longbarrow Press, 2019) Link:

Portland : a Triptych, with poets Tim Allen & Norman Jope (Knives Forks & Spoons Press, 2019) Link:

Lake-Skin As Eye (The Red Ceilings Press, 2019) Link:

Moor, with artist Dominique Cameron (Fidra Fine Art, 2020)

Selected anthologies

Full of Star’s Dreaming, Peter Redgrove 1932-2003 ( Stride Publications, 2003)

Stanage, rock-climbing guidebook (The British Mountaineering Council, 2007)

Troubles Swapped for Something Fresh, manifestos and unmanifestos, edited by Rupert Loydell (Salt, 2009)

The Ground Aslant, Radical Landscape Poetry edited by Harriet Tarlo (Shearsman Books, 2010)

Llanberis Slate, rock-climbing guidebook (Ground Up, 2011)

Entanglements, New ecopoetry, edited by David Knowles and Sharon Blackie (Two Ravens Press, 2012)

The Footing, edited by Brian Lewis (Longbarrow Press, 2013)

West Cornwall, Bosigran and the North Coast, rock-climbing guidebook (The Climbers’ Club, 2016)

25, Celebrating 25 Years of NTU’s MA in Creative Writing, edited by David Belbin & Rory Waterman (Nottingham Trent University, 2019)

Forthcoming publications

Full-length book – At – forthcoming with Shearsman, 2020.

Chapbook –  Erodes On Air – forthcoming from American publisher Middle Creek,  2021.

Further information

Twitter: @kramawoodgin